News

Dirty Hands Reading Series: Jim Moore and Patricia Weaver Francisco

On Friday, November 14 at 7:30 pm literary enthusiasts are invited to visit Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts to hear from two highly accomplished local writers Jim Moore and Patricia Weaver Francisco. Banfill-Locke 2014 Dirty Hands Reading Series: writing that gets under your fingernails. This is the final Dirty Hands Reading Series event for the year.

The Dirty Hands reading series features writers whose work addresses the world with immediacy and sharp edges. Discover new voices as well as new writing from familiar writersand new ways of reading and presenting poetry, prose, and ideas. These will be interactive events; series curator Becca Barniskis invites audience response and facilitates a lively exchange between writers and readers. All events are free and open to the public.

Jim Moore is the author of seven books of poetry, including Invisible Strings and Lightning at Dinner. His poetry has appeared in the New Yorker, the Nation, and the Paris Review. His latest book, Underground: New and Selected Poems, gathers the best of his previous work as well as twenty new poems that showcase a poet whose work should appeal to fans of Mary Oliver and Billy Collins. In poems that are frank and accessible, Moore is a generous and keen observer of the world and people around him. As the New York Times put it: “Jim Moore’s poems are an artful amalgam of humor and fierce attention, suffused by a passion for ancient Asian poetry.” He is married to renowned photographer JoAnn Verburg, and lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota and Spoleto, Italy.

Patricia Weaver Francisco is the author of Telling: A Memoir of Rape and Recovery (HarperCollins), which won the Minnesota Book Award and was described as “required reading” by The American Psychological Association Review of Books. She is also the author of Cold Feet, a novel (Simon & Schuster), Village Without Mirrors, a collection of lyric essays (Milkweed Editions), and the plays Sign of a Child and Lunacy (The Dramatic Publishing Company). Her work has received support from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Bush Foundation, The McKnight Foundation, the Loft Literary Center, The Playwright’s Center, and the Minnesota State Arts Board.  She teaches in the MFA and BFA programs in creative writing at Hamline University and serves as the creative nonfiction editor of Water~Stone Review.

The Dirty Hands reading series curator Becca Barniskis writes and teaches poetry.  Her new chapbook, Mimi and Xavier Star in a Museum That Fits Entirely in One’s Pocket (Anomalous Press) also appears in an audio music version and is available digitally and as a vinyl LP. Her poetry has appeared in or is forthcoming from numerous journals, among them Handsome, The Boiler, Mid-American Review, Conduit, and Prairie Schooner. Becca will be sharing her writing at the December 12 reading at Banfill-Locke.