Art of Darkness: Inspired by the Paranormal


Since Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts is housed in the Banfill Tavern, a place where rumors and evidence of paranormal activity is prevalent,  BLCA is proud to present The Art of Darkness: Inspired by the Paranormal in the Banfill galleries August 30 to September 27, 2014. Gallery admission is always free and the regular hours are 10 am to 4 pm, Tuesday through Saturday.

An open call for paranormal inspired art was distributed this spring and entries were received from all over the world in a variety of mediums. Noted Paranormal Radio Personalities Dave Schrader and Tim Dennis of Darkness Radio and BLCA jurors selected, from the entries, just over 100 paranormal inspired works of art from artists from 15 states, Canada, and England. The exhibition will showcase photographs, paintings, drawings, sculpture, mixed-media, and more.

Opening August 30, 2014 and running through September 27, The Art of Darkness: Inspired by the Paranormal celebrates the paranormal through visual art.

The opening reception is Saturday, September 6 from 6 to 9 pm. All members of the public are invited to join some of the artists, the Darkness Radio hosts and other paranormal enthusiasts.

Affiliated Programming:
On Monday, September 8 at 7 pm, we’ll host a discussion on the history of the Banfill Tavern and see the paranormal evidence that has been collected by the Twin Cities Paranormal Research & Investigation. This is a free event, but RSVPs are welcome to help us plan.

Friday, September 19 Twin Cities Paranormal Research & Investigation invites you to participate in a nighttime investigation at the Banfill Tavern. Limited to just 10 people, tickets for the investigation are $50 each. More info at this link.

Artists accepted into the show include:
Mario Alba (Dalton, GA), Dillon Allen (Bloomington, MN), Carla Anderson (Robbinsdale, MN), Deanna Barr (Ramsey, MN), Mary Begley (Buffalo, NY), Linda L. Brobeck (Waverly, MN), Robin Danielle Cagey (Brooklyn, NY), Sylvia Carsen (Fridley, MN), Paulina Cassidy (Chattanooga, TN), Art Coeo (Minneapolis, MN), Ali Cotton (Fountain Valley, MN), Sabrina Crowley (Littleton, OH), Pauline Carrasco (San Diego, CA), Angela Da Rocha (Nova Scotia), Michelle Darensbourg (Lancaster, CA), Sam Davis (Sarasota, FL), Jenny Dowd (Alpine, WY), Bonnie Elkerton (Shoreview, MN), Sharyn Erickson (Ham Lake, MN), Thomas E. Finley (Hockley, Essex, England), Julianne French (Jacksonville, FL), Suzanne Gates-Giannaccini (Maple Grove, MN), Elizabeth Geiger (Coon Rapids, MN), Carlen Goldhorn (Minneapolis, MN), Corey Habbas (Blaine, MN), Michael Hale (Johnson City, TN), Amy Hicks (Philadelphia, PA), Margaret Holmes (Hibbing, MN), Sylvia Horwitz (Minneapolis, MN), Sharon Howell (Cambridge, MN), Gary Johnson (Blaine, MN), Elizabeth Kauffman (Salisbury, MD), Brandon Kuehn (Anoka, MN), Nathan Lewis (Minneapolis, MN), Nicole Lindstrom (Vacaville, CA), Alfred McEvoy (La Fargeville, NY), CJ McHugh (Indianapolis, IN), Vanessa Merry (Crystal, MN), Patrice Mura (Bakersfield, CA), Terri Myers Wentzka (Shoreview, MN), Erich Neitzke (Potsdam, NY), George Peterson (Chicago, IL), Gene Pittman (Minneapolis, MN), Ethan Rowan Pope (St. Paul, MN), Brennan Probst (Wilmette, IL), Punchgut (Fargo, ND), Jo-Anne Reske Kirkman (Orono, MN), Mary Ann Rolloff (Bloomington, MN), Rachel Rolseth (Minneapolis, MN), Ken Smith (Los Angeles, CA), Sarah Spencer (Roanoke, VA), Jenna Tanttila (Dassel, MN), Robby Tew (Charleston, SC), Debra Trejo (Stanchfield, MN), Peter Truran (Minneapolis, MN), Joyce VanderWyst (Arden Hills, MN), Sheri Vangen (Ham Lake, MN), Louise Wahl (Long Lake, MN), Laura Weiser (Columbus, OH), Lyz Wendland (Brooklyn Park, MN).

The banner image above features, from left, DeeVap by Deanna Bar, December 9, 1731 in Florence, Italy by Elizabeth Kauffman, Three Young Greys by Paulina Cassidy, and Our Mother is Worried by Sarah Spencer.