Fourth BLCA Chapbook released

In the summer of 2018 a call for entries for the Fourth Annual Writing Contest was announced. The submitted works were reviewed and judged as blind entries by Dore Kiesselbach. The following are the winners of our 4th Annual Writing Contest and published in our 4 Vol. Member Chapbook are:

  • First place went to Mimi Jennings for Madonna.
  • Second place went to Ellen Lager for Wonders Beneath.
  • Third Place went to Mary Ditter for Knitting Basket.
  • Honorable mentions went to:

Elizabeth Husebye Hartmann for Bedtime Stories, Jill Klapperich Guth for Eleven Letters, Rolf Skogerbo for Time and Distance, Renee Jaroscak for The Question, and Barbara Gillespie for Rescued.

These writers are also included in the 2018 Member Chapbook:

Marilyn Anderson, Mary Kay Rummel, and Mary Schmidt.

All contributing writers receive a complimentary copy.


Copies are available in our gift shop for $12.00 plus tax.

The 2018 Member Chapbook was designed and published by Red Bird Chapbooks.

About the Judge:

Dore Kiesselbach earned his BA from Oberlin College, MFA from the Iowa Writer’s Workshop, and JD from New York University. He has published two collections of poetry with the University of Pittsburgh Press, Salt Pier (2012) and Albatross (2017).  His work has appeared in many magazines, including FIELDPoetryAGNI and The Poetry Review.  His honors include the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize, Britain’s Bridport Prize in poetry, the Robert H. Winner Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America, and an Artist Initiative Grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board. His lives in Minneapolis.